Maintenance

By: Anonymous

A shrill scream echos through the frozen and sleepy streets of Minocqua, Wisconsin. The loud noise traveled to the ends of the small town before it dissipated into thin air. It only woke a few of the sleep-deprived citizens of Minocqua. Each of them had the same though come into their minds; Mrs. Burcolts must be having yet another child.

My footsteps are the only noise in the town. Gees Lisa…. Why do you make me feel that I need to check the General Store at five thirty in the mourning in the cruel Wisconsin winter? I sighed and answered myself with what I knew to be true: because she is my wife, my beautiful, hard working, and bossy wife. The familiar stores of Main Street are surrounding me. A thick layer of dull snow and glassy ice cover every inch of this god-forsaken town, preventing me to see the bright colors that appear in the spring and summer months. I finally approach the General Store of Minocqua. My near frostbitten finger digs around in my faded blue jean pockets until I pull out the huge wad of icy metal keys that unlock every object you could possibly imagine. It takes several seconds for my foggy brain to locate the key that unlocks the front door. I know that I am not supposed to enter through the front door; I am supposed to continue around back to the staff entrance. That would include another five minutes of walking through the frozen air. What she does not know does not hurt her. My clumsy finger finally unlocks the five locks on the front door.  I step into the main entrance of the store I am so familiar with.

I glance around at the many isles of stuff filling the huge room, the most popular and desirable items standing out for all to see and buy. The average cork message board that says COMMUNITY in hand painted letters, and underneath are old dusty flyers for anything you could possibly want, need, and many things that are not on either of those lists. The long line of stacked shopping carts are frozen against one another and the whole store needed a good spring cleaning. I walked to the far side of the store, past the bakery section, to the maintenance closet. I flip the switch to turn on the lights in the congested, musty room.

Her once lush brown hair is matted with thick brown blood. She is wearing a yellow dress, if you could call it yellow after all the bloodstains that cover its silky surface. A deep wound is located under the collarbone on the left side of her petite body, right wear the heart is. She is sprawled on the maintenance floor like an unwanted doll, her body in a position of surprise. Her beautiful face is mercilessly untouched. Her jaw is small and unpronounced; she has high cheekbones that you could tell were once rosy. Her almond shaped eyes are still open, showing that they are pristine, blue, and unique. Her entire body was beautiful even in her state of death as she lay on the maintenance closet floor.

Leave a Reply

