The Girl That Runs Part II

Editors Note: Part I is right here, The Girl That Runs .

Mia B.

I opened my eyes and the world was a bouncing blur. Every time the area around me shifted up and down, I had the sensation of being punched in the stomach. When my mind finally cleared, I could take in the details of my surroundings. I realized I was thrown over one of the Americans troops’ shoulders as they took me away from home.

I resisted the urge to scream as the American jumped over a log. My leg felt as though a knife had been stuck in it and left there.  I did not writhe in pain, for I was worried that the soldiers would notice and make me walk.

My brain struggled to find the reason as to why I was being carried away, the inconsistent pressure on my stomach and the great pain in my lower leg making it hard to think.  I stared at the ground beneath me, and took a deep breath. Start at the beginning, Năng, how did this happen? It seemed like an eternity before I truly remembered. I had used a pulse of energy, scared my entire family, and angered the Americans enough to shoot me when I was climbing a tree to hide.  Then, I blacked out and woke up as I was being thrown over the American’s shoulder.

Now that I remembered what happened, I had to think of a way to escape. My only thought was to sneak out when night came, but I was most likely going to be tied up. I moaned in pain as the soldiers began to run, I must have not noticed the rain that began to fall. Once they had gotten underneath a large tree to shield them from the rain, I felt sick. The American who had been carrying me slid me onto the ground. In my stupor, I forgot to pretend to be unconscious.

“Hey, she’s awake!” the American yelled as he went to get more soldiers.  Several of them encircled me and tied up my wrists behind my back.  They forced me to sit against a tree and extend my leg outwards.  The pain made my vision blur and I whimpered. Most of the soldiers left me, but two stayed.  I looked up to see a soldier with pliers, cloth, and bandages standing over me, “Pin her down.” he said. The soldiers restrained my legs and pinned me to the tree. The American stuffed the cloth into my mouth and he removed the old bandages from my swollen and dirty leg. I looked at the bandages that were caked with blood and dirt. How long was I out? But I could never have known the pain I was about to endure. The American took his pliers and dug into my leg, searching for something to pull out. I screamed into the cloth in my mouth in agony.  The soldier pulled the bullet out of my calf and the pain reduced greatly. They re-wrapped my leg and left me alone. I tried to look around me to see the details of my situation, but my vision blurred and I passed out.

I awakened to the sound of gunshots and yelling. I remained quiet and slowly came to my senses.  The Americans were shooting at men wearing all black clothing, sandals, and hats.  The visitors were attacking the Americans and I realized who these men were.  These men were Guerilla fighters. I did my best to slink back behind the tree I had passed out on, but one of the men spotted me.  I cursed under my breath and he yanked me to my feet, “Let’s go.” I was panting hard as he dragged me farther into the forest. I felt that my leg could give out on me at any moment.

When the Guerilla fighter finally stopped, I had time to rest. I leaned up against a tree, panting, “Where are you taking me?”

“I cannot tell you, it would be better for your safety.” He blindfolded me, and continued to wherever he was taking me. We were walking now.  I became frustrated.  I needed to know where I was going.

“Where are we going?!” I insisted.

“That does not concern you, now keep walking.”

I became even angrier; I tore off my blindfold and raised my hands to shoulder-level “Tell me, NOW!” He laughed at me and attempted to put my blindfold back on, but not before a pulse of energy blasted out of my hands.  The Guerilla fighter flew backwards and I ran in the opposite direction, looking for somewhere to take shelter.

To be continued…

2 thoughts on “The Girl That Runs Part II

Leave a Reply

