The Girl That Runs

Mia B.

I’m supposed to be in a United States medical testing lab, but I’m not.  I managed to escape the lab about 4 hours ago.  I was taken there for “examination” after the incident a couple days ago.

The United States military was moving through my small village in Vietnam.  The men were looking for refuge; it had gotten rough out there.  Of course, the adults in my village did not like the troops moving through. I could see the looks of disgust on their faces as they spit in their direction when the soldiers moved past them.

The soldiers went by almost every home, trying to ask for supplies or shelter. None of the villagers they asked would give the Americans anything.  My father noticed me watching the soldiers as they moved closer towards our home.  “Go inside, you shouldn’t be out here.” He rushed me into the house and stood in front of the door, waiting for the American troops to come by our home.

I sighed and walked to the kitchen. There I cut open a fruit to chew on.  Normally I would have given the other half to my brother, but he was fighting for our country in the war.  I always wanted to have the opportunity to join him, but my father told me I couldn’t, because I was a girl.  He also told me I would have to cut off all of my long hair if I even wanted to disguise myself as a boy, and I couldn’t ever do that.

I was pulled out of my own little reality when I heard my father yelling at the door. I walked over behind him and peeked around him and saw at least 5 American troops trying to convince my dad to let them stay.  One of them smiled when he saw me behind my father and pushed him aside. Almost instantly I ran for the back door of our home, but the soldier grabbed me by my long black hair.  I could see my father running for his kitchen knife, and I could hear the other troops coming in the house. I yelled for the soldier to let go of me, but he just laughed and said “This girl would make a nice addition to our Vietnamese captives…”

“I said, let go!” I yelled, and put my hands in front of me. I felt a pulse of energy and I watched the American Soldiers fly through the air.  My father dropped the meat cleaver he was getting ready to use, his eyes wide with fear.  My heart pounding, I ran out the door.

The farther and faster I ran, the more scared I became. Running through the village, I searched for a place to hide and compose myself.  Then the reality of the situation hit me, somehow I managed to push all of those Americans away. But how did I do it? The last thing I remembered happening was putting my hands in front of me in fear and the pulse of energy throwing the soldiers backwards.

The Americans were running after me now, and I could hear them yelling for me to get back over there.  I sprinted for the forest that surrounded the village; maybe there was a tree I could climb that would conceal me from them.  I heard gunshots but they weren’t doing a very good job at trying to shoot me, because none of the bullets touched me.

As soon as I hit the edge of the forest I began looking for a tree that I could scale in enough time.  Desperate for a way to escape the men who wanted me dead, or worse, I climbed the closest tree I could find.  The tree was slender with few branches on it, and the lowest branch was 4 feet above the ground.  I jumped to the lowest branch and began to climb. I started to lose my breath, but I kept on going as fast as I could.  The voices of the Americans were getting louder now, and I could tell that they knew I was in the trees. My method of climbing began to slack as I focused my attention on the soldiers and not the tree. Before I knew it, a branch snapped under my feet and I screamed. I caught myself but I lost at good 5 feet of climbing distance.  The soldiers turned towards me and began to shoot.  They managed to shoot me in the calf, and I plummeted 10 feet to the ground.

To Be Continued…

 

One thought on “The Girl That Runs

  1. Pingback: The Girl That Runs Part II | The Jeffersonian

Leave a Reply

