Weekly Arts Review 12/6/11

Arctic Monkeys

Ever heard of the Arctic Monkeys? Well I hadn’t either until this weekend, when I put my IPod on shuffle and the first song that came up was “Don’t Sit Down Because I’ve Moved Your Chair“. I didn’t even know I had this song, since I get the free songs from ITunes every Tuesday. A very catchy guitar rift started to play, kind of quiet, and a deep voice started to sing very soft and calm. The rest of the song had the same guitar rift, with a few bits added, and lyrics that you wouldn’t mind having stuck in your head for days.

Arctic Monkeys is not one of the whiny bands of today, but rather, weird songs, with weird names, that make sense. Arctic Monkeys are very closely related to The Black Keys, their music being more like indie rock. So if you are looking from something out of the ordinary, look up some music by the Arctic Monkeys.

Leave a Reply

